So We Meet Again…

The SECOND POST– the elusive and much awaited sequel to the first post. I know it felt like it would never come, but here it is…don’t believe the naysayers who pontificate that the sequel is never as good as the original. With this, as with most things, seconds are better 😉

Again, dear reader, I would like to begin by thanking you for reading this. I wish I had a way to give you a little hug for taking this second step on the road with me. Alas I don’t, but if I could I would. Well let’s get you caught up on the almost 4 week absence of your intrepid Editor-in-Chief (EIC). Btw, the soundtrack of this blog post is decidedly Techno-esque and right now, “Dance Like Michael Jackson” by Far East Movement is bumpin’ out of my speakers, so bear with me,( it seemed appropriate “…it don’t matter if ya black or white, everybody get down when I’m on the mic’…”)

Ok, so back to the initial thread, the past four weeks have been intense. Sifting and winnowing has never been so painful and I am now firmly entrenched in my belief that some college classes are designed by the devil and administered by his minions. I won’t name names *cough* Zoology *cough*…had something in my throat there for a minute. WIRZ’s fearless (no clowns though…have you read Stephen King’s “IT”) EIC has been outsourcing her endless energy and party-planning skills to three other campus publication. The results of said labor:

  • The Madison Lit Fest Commemorative Collection –Best Student Writers 2011 online and limited release print issue. (I now officially kick butt at InDesign software. YES, a fist bump here is entirely appropriate, but alas, lacking, as my vigorous head nodding is scaring the uninitiated onlookers.) The main reading and cocktail party will be on Wednesday, April 13th and is the kick-off event for a week of literary-themed events. [check it all out here http://www.madisonlitfest.com/]
  • Souvenirs magazine release party on April 17th, 2011, the party planning was fun, come on, it has BELLYDANCERS…yeah, it’s gonna be awesome. 
  • The Illumination magazine – poetry reviewing almost cost me all my hair from the stress…but it got me an AWESOME Assistant Editor-in-Chief (more on this later) and the planning of the Illumination new issue release party on an-as-yet-to-be-announced-date in April (very low stress).

If I am forgetting any non-WIRZ ventures, please forgive me. But this is the WIRZ blog though so… Now to WIRZ ventures. (ooh, new song, “Let it Rock” by Kevin Rudolf) Back to WIRZ. The Madison Lit Fest beckons and we were invited to the Pub Me fair on Monday, April 18th, 2011. It promises to be fun and a chance for us to do the meet-and-greet and brush up on our social etiquette after the long hibernation of winter. The budget hearing happened. It went well…but no news yet so intrepid leader may either be happy or very bitter in a few days, hence the need to post now 😀

***UPDATE: We Were funded!!!! Yay!!!!I am beyond happy and may have strayed into ecstatic territory***

Hmmn…once I write it all down it doesn’t look so much as if my sanity was being tested…I must be forgetting something. Well, I guess the rest of it was simply my life getting on my nerves (car trouble, taxes, college paperwork, work, blah blah blah.) On a happier note, the planning of the WIRZ Fall 2011 bash is in full swing, I will update you as that information becomes more available. So in related news of what WIRZ has been up to, I have planned our three fund-raisers for this year so be on the lookout for us. We will come bearing FOOD…cupcakes, coffee, tea, and complimentary reading materials. A T-shirt is in the works, not sure yet if it’ll be for general sale online, or only staff, but you can at least feast your eyes below. I love Raglan sleeves and the cut is not overly feminine…or masculine, so win-win for everyone. Off to the land of learning…or something like that.

As always, your intrepid (and fearless) leader,

 The Editor-in-Chief, Women in REDzine.

One thought on “So We Meet Again…

  1. This is shaping up to be my absolute favorite blog! The EIC knows how to write and I can’t wait for these new ventures that WIRZ will be taking us on!

Leave a Reply

