Elation…or fever high

Dear Reader, I’m still floating on the high of having our Autumn 2011 issue be so well received and look so damn good at the same time; it’s a sleek, glossy, black cover with…(cheese warning) a woman, in red, on the cover…both front and back β€” which the back has to been seen…it’s completely and utterly brilliant and awesome! I love our first issue of the year…actually, our first real issue ever. There are interviews with Benjamin Percy, Jacqueline Jones LaMon, Sean Bishop, Nick Lantz and an artistic feature on body artist, Dawn Marie Svanoe and Photographer, Colm McCarthy. Suffice to say that it’s worth the money to get your hands on a copy. I’ve included the cover image so you can see what I mean. You should get it! Website…Mag Swag…boom and it’s on its way to you. http://www.womeninredzine.com/#!__mag-swag

The Kickass Cover

It’s a big thing for me to still be happy, since I’m gotten the mother of all colds and another reading to do today…but, ok this is where it gets weird, I’m looking forward to today’s reading. I know, right! But it’s like Cheers and going back to a place where everyone knows your name and most of the people in attendance like you…and like your work. The cold just seems to melt away and I’m hoping to bring it for these people since they deserve a great reading. Poetry is the order of the day…we’re taking a lot of prose with us…who apparently put the pro in prose (that’s our prose editor talking and all hate mail will be forwarded to him πŸ™‚ )

But I told myself this would be quick…just a quick ‘how you doing’ and bustin’ out and I think I will stick to the plan. Come on out and see us at the UW-Baraboo/Sauk County if you’re able to, support us by getting a couple copies of the magazine (remember, as a non-profit all money goes back into printing the magazine…do you recall the “we are all volunteers” conversation we had?), pick up a bottle opener and keychain, listen to some young (and between you and I, soon to be famously awesome) writers read their work for free at the T.N. Savides Library. You know you want to…besides it cold outside and I’m running a fever so you’re at least guaranteed a warm cozy space to pass an hour or so. So be there…or have a really good excuse!

So, until we meet again, I remain, as always, your intrepid (and fearless) leader,
The Editor-in-Chief, Women in REDzine

One thought on “Elation…or fever high

  1. Simply stunning! This issue is gorgeous! Not to mention Justin Madson’s comic is fabulous. I simply LOVE how you featured it throughout the magazine.

Leave a Reply

